Number 24… TMWNK

th

The man who never knew

“I love you… the day we wed

the day I laid you in bed

I knew it was the day” – Bill repeating a haiku he wrote after their honeymoon, with Janice’s hand smashed against his mouth in tears. The background noise of the ambulance, Lance and the paramedics sounding distant from his mind. “Is the baby going to be fine?” a boisterous Lance screams, intruding the deep recesses of Bills mind, dumping him back at the matter at hand; reality. The paramedic says to Lance “I am sorry sir you are a relative, not her husband, we cannot divulge that…”, “Answer the goddamn question. Is my baby alright?” a red eyed, snot nosed Bill assertively states. An awkward silence consumes the ambulance cabin after his assertion, “Your wife, collapsed due to her anemia Mr. Felwinter, her baby should be fine but it seems her water broke in the process” the female paramedic softly answers back. The ambulance pulls up to the hospital with a stretcher coming out of the sliding doors. As the two paramedics pull out the still unconscious Janice, a car pulls up with speed with a stop so sudden the tires slid creating a screeching road against the asphalt with Laura and Carl seen in the front seat. Laura, Janice’s sister rushes out the car screaming “what happened to my sister!!!” and proceeds to attack Bill, with Bill defensively holding his hands out to keep distance away from her. In the background “1, 2, 3 lift!” is heard by Lance by the paramedics as they rush in to carry Janice in to the emergency room meanwhile Carl, Janice’s father tries to stop and calm an enraged Laura. “Laura, calm down, please!” Carl pleads, “NO! How about you go and be with that bitch! I am sure that is where you want to be! I do not care what Janice says, I know that is your child.” Laura yells. Lance and Carl silently  look at Bill as Bill looks at Laura, turns, grabs his jacket and runs after Janice who is being led in to the emergency room. Lance looks at Laura and says “Bill may have neglected Janice, Laura but he is not no cheater, what Jessie and Bill have is brother sister relationship that I admit is closer than normal but he loves your sister…”. “Fuck off Lance” Laura calmly says and walks pass him with tears in her eyes toward the room. Carl walks up and hugs Lance, they both head inside. Through the hallway, an echo of Lance cellphone ringtone is heard. Lance scrambles to check his pockets but finds no phone. Carl turns and says “look she is bringing it to you, you must’ve left it in the ambulance”. “Thank you so much!” Carl tells the paramedic and proceeds to answer “Hello?”. “Hey Lance, where is Bill?” Jessie asks. “Uhh, Jessie right now, Bill is with his wife, there has been an accident. We are at the hospital.” said Lance. “Jessie… did you and Bill ever knock boots, hook up… ya know have sex?” asks Lance. Laura slowly exiting the door of the ER and approaches Lance. “Lance, I know Janice had her suspicion but she and I have talked about this already. The answer is no. Your family took me in and yes, I admit me and Bill have always loved each other but…” a sigh breaks her sentence then she continues, “He does not love me the way I wanted him to. So I decided to try to seduce him and be as close as him as I can to make sure no other woman that is undeserving gets him. Then that one day Janice stepped into the picture.” “Jessie look. I do not want to hear all of that. I just want to know if you guys did anything…” Lance gets cut off and thrown off guard as Laura snatches the phone. “Jessie”

STAY TUNED FOR THE CONCLUSION.

Leave a Reply

